NOTE: "Hipcrime" himself is not responsible for the supersedes. He merely wrote the software that others are abusing for this purpose. The problem acquired the name "Hipcrime" because that is the tool that the vandals are using. In fact, more than one vandal could be involved.

The individual who is doing this- I've seen the name "Hipcrime" in news.admin.net-abuse.usenet- may want to think about what he is doing. He is interfering with telecommunications that cross state lines. Doubleplus ungood, bad medicine, heap bad juju. He may want to check out the following link:
National
Computer Crimes Squad (part of the Federal Bureau of Investigation):
Federal Bureau of Investigation
Washington Metropolitan Field Office
601 4th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20535-0002
(202) 278-2000
It also looks like he is helping himself to other people's
servers (open servers), also across state lines. Could be interesting if
those servers' owners decide to do something about it.
A full header: you want the Path and any NNTP-posting-host. (He may be able to forge the NNTP posting host, or remove it entirely, as he is doing here)
From - Fri Oct 23 20:52:52 1998
Message-ID: <1Q3ZOQCMujnN.HCgLRE1pyszMYxO.aGGugyhyqcBLF@news.gate.net>
Supersedes: <36410e96.2199452@news.gate.net>
Subject: Re: DOS com in WinNT
From: bill@websoftware.com (Bill Barnes) [Forged
address, affects path]
References: <70pkgm$dh2$1@eskinews.eskimo.com>
Date: 23 Oct 1998 08:59:58 GMT
Newsgroups: alt.gothic,alt.slack,alt.animals.dolphins,alt.genius.bill-palmer,intel.etc,comp.dcom.modems
Lines: 19
Path: ix.netcom.com!netnews.com!europa.clark.net!206.55.3.15!news.clark.net!newsgroups.intel.com!websoftware.com!bill
Xref: ix.netcom.com alt.gothic:584009 alt.slack:272674 alt.animals.dolphins:71077
alt.genius.bill-palmer:44802 comp.dcom.modems:248215
Other headers' paths:
Path: ix.netcom.com!howland.erols.net!feed1.news.rcn.net!rcn!newsxfer.visi.net!news.clark.net!newsgroups.intel.com!yahoo.com!femlove
Path: x.netcom.com!news.webspan.net!news-spur1.maxwell.syr.edu!news.maxwell.syr.edu!cpk-news-hub1.bbnplanet.com!
news.news.gtei.net!europa.clark.net!206.55.3.15!news.clark.net!newsgroups.intel.com!xfpqvaxm.edu!TouchMe
Path: ix.netcom.com!netnews.com!europa.clark.net!206.55.3.15!news.clark.net!newsgroups.intel.com!camsSPAMOFF.nwnet.co.uk!gary
The entries at the far right of the paths (the supposed origin of the message) are fake, since the abuser is forging the addresses of the messages' posters. In the complete example, the abuser has forged bill@websoftware.com, so websoftware.com!bill appears as the rightmost entry. You want the rightmost entry that is COMMON to ALL the supersedes. This is newsgroups.intel.com, so you would forward the supersedes to abuse@intel.com and postmaster@intel.com. This could well be the open server that the bad guy is abusing. I copied postmaster@clark.net for good measure.
Here's one with an NNTP posting host:
Path: ix.netcom.com!news.maxwell.syr.edu!xfer.kren.ne.kr!news.lginternet.net!alumni.rpi.edu!furlos
NNTP-Posting-Host: 166-88-133.ipt.aol.com 152.166.88.133
lginternet.net is probably the injection point (open server),
per examination of other headers. AOL could be the message's origin (if
the vandal is using throwaway AOL accounts), but he also may be forging
this part of the header. I notified AOL anyway, they may want to take legal
action against this individual. If you use the Windows '95 Traceroute utility
(in the Windows directory), TRACERT 152.166.88.133 does indeed lead to
AOL.
One would normally report this to lginternet.net. Problem: I tried http://www.lginternet.net, and it does not exist! If the vandal can modify his path headers, he may have inserted a nonexistent domain as a decoy to deflect complaints. http://www.kren.ne.kr does exist, and it may be the actual injection point.
Update: I received a couple of E-mails that say
lginternet.net is indeed a valid domain, but I couldn't resolve it with
a traceroute. To be thorough, consider reporting to the two rightmost domains
in the path (if the rightmost one, in this case lginternet.net, cannot
be contacted from your browser or by Traceroute).
William A. Levinson is a SPAMMER!
Dvtxu bgqr gbsm botwf
ab ebeziae li xy?
Vaelzx ltue yia fkjp bjto bt
lli lasr qvu ely ep.
Pnec ymk ev ydezm
eeebn fgr ybi iepap rluipe fjzn
mlu erp pqu cyh mmb fvf
ckp koe heo uylu ijnr ye
pta tnpr te zhtdo wdju?
Hdevsw fokiu bmfii eupg mj
azqtn ml iddp acec xlflc
esv ooliv eudypl eolph
ipcc dcm pfp tyfq ylwk fuwvz
ucbazi lhd ftzdfu xrioib nkdiw pcf
wii fig yfb axa vawt xm?
Zibc ebskir ei ohgu
dlt tqeyppu eub pibu ebds ru
lss bei rqse zaofwi trnp ygeii
ysbp pemtalt gap sq aed
ir wl ethq laa my iei
sii mmel vkkm rkel rtljn
umpt nixl ext cxfqk tt ls
birks ritnpp ie hxplur alj
rulfva dtf sea haiz ru eb
eioe jnk mvtk ywse pfey oxlmd?
Uncle Rom is the spam fighter of "Spam Delenda Est," it's short for "Romulus." Cheerful facts about the Roman Empire:
